PNW Shifts into Winter, and Yesterday’s Carvings

November 1st Chain Laws

The start of November marks the beginning of chain laws in many states and provinces. In particular, Commercial Motor Vehicle Drivers are required to obey winter Tire and Chain up signs throughout Washington and Oregon from November 1 to April 1.

For Oregon, the chain law applies to all highways throughout the state. In some areas, lighted message signs will advise on chaining up. Drivers who disregard signage are subject to fines from State Patrol. Noted difficult passes in Oregon include Siskiyou Pass on the I-5, Cabbage Hill on I-84, and Mount Hood on US 26. More information on pass conditions, chain placement requirements, and chain placement instructions can be found on the Oregon Department of Transportation’s website.

For Washington, State Patrol troopers will be strictly enforcing the Nov. 1 deadline. Failing to carry chains in the state will cost driver $124. When highway signs and advisories call for chains, the fine increases to $500. Noted difficult passes in Washington are Snoqualmie Pass on the I-90, Blewett Pass on Route 97, Stevens Pass on Route 2, White Pass on Route 12, Status Pass on Route 97, Chinook Pass on Route 410, and Sherman Pass on Route 20. More information on pass conditions, chain placement requirements, and chain placement instructions can also be found on the Washington Department of Transportation’s website.

Being prepared is crucial for ALL drivers on the road. Check out the Washington DOT’s video on how to install chains on a car, and some useful winter driving tips for all:

Carving Update!

Also, yesterday being Halloween, we had our annual pumpkin carving contest. The winning team was boney-ta; their masterpiece below:

 

 

Head over to our Facebook page to see all of yesterday’s pumpkins!

PNW Shifts into Winter, and Yesterday’s Carvings was last modified: by